SHOP GIFTS AND MORE Shop now

Book Shop

Premium Fiction

Joan

Katherine J Chen

Published: 5th July 2022 This is Joan of Arc as you’ve never imagined her before. Warrior. Heretic. Saint? History has never quite managed to imagine Joan of Arc as a living, breathing woman. In the vein of Hilary Mantel, this is the celebrated French heroine brought to life before your eyes. Publisher: Hachette ISBN: 9781399706117
RRP: £16.99
LoveMyRead price: £14.99
Subscribers pay: £12.99

Our Curators said...

This is easily my favourite book published this year. With astounding clarity and momentum, Chen manages to fill in the colour to this character for whom history has only drawn the sketched edges. The writing is impeccable, the plot perfectly balanced…it’s simply delicious. Fans of Hilary Mantel and Maggie O’Farrell’s ‘Hamnet’ will love it. I’ll be astonished if it doesn’t win a prize or two.

The LoveMyRead Team

- LoveMyRead

What the Critics are Saying

'A glorious, sweeping novel... Richly imagined, poignant and inspiring'

Jennifer Saint

'It is as if the author has crept inside a statue and breathed a soul into it, re-creating Joan of Arc as a woman for our time'

Hilary Mantel

'Measured, austere, profoundly physical. I loved it'

Jo Baker

'In Katherine J. Chen's capable hands, Joan becomes fully flesh and achingly real'

Lisa Wingate

'An epic novel with the mythic power of a fairytale'

Christina Baker Kline

Related books

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us