SHOP GIFTS AND MORE Shop now

Book Shop

Premium Fiction

Memphis

Tara M Stringfellow

Published: 14th April 2022 A spellbinding debut novel tracing three generations of a Southern Black family and one daughter’s discovery that she has the power to change her family’s legacy Publisher: Pan Macmillan ISBN: 9781529068764
RRP: £14.99
LoveMyRead price: £12.99
Subscribers pay: £13.99

Our Curators said...

Epic and poetic...this is just a gorgeous and mesmerising book. I could hardly believe it's a debut - it's written so assuredly, with such strength. I really, really loved it and recommended it at once to all my female friends.

The LoveMyRead Team

- LoveMyRead

What the Critics are Saying

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut.

Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience.

Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists.

An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honoree Jeffers.

Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

Related books

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us