SHOP GIFTS AND MORE Shop now

Book Shop

New

The Awakenings

Sarah Maine

Published: 3rd November 2022 Yorkshire, 1890. Having lost her father and brothers in tragic circumstances, Olwen Malkon is forced to leave her childhood home to live with her uncle's family. In his chill vicarage, however, she fears that she is also losing her mind, as strange dreams take her into the life of Ælfwyn, a woman from a distant past whose fate is overshadowed by menace and betrayal. Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton ISBN: 9781529385144
RRP: £8.99
LoveMyRead price: £6.99
Subscribers pay: £4.99

Our Curators said...

The Awakenings tells the tale of two women divided by a century who share an unbreakable bond. Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Sarah Waters

The LoveMyRead Team

- LoveMyRead

What the Critics are Saying

'In this absorbing and evocative novel, Maine weaves a compelling tale of love, power and betrayal that echoes through the centuries . . . An engaging and immersive novel, featuring a little-known period of British history, with two vibrant and sympathetic women at its heart.'

Nikki Marmery

'The reader is plunged in two vividly drawn worlds as the author takes us back in time to Yorkshire in 1890 and 790, skilfully inter-weaving the stories of two women as they struggle against the constraints and very real dangers of society across the centuries. The Awakenings is a haunting and compelling mystery.'

Maggie Ritchie

Related books

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us