SHOP GIFTS AND MORE Shop now

Book Shop

The Five Wounds

Kristin Valdez Quade

Published: 7th July 2022 A darkly funny, beautiful family saga for fans of Elizabeth Strout and Jonathan Franzen. It’s Holy Week in the town of Las Penas, New Mexico – and the arrival of a new baby is about to set the Padilla family (all five generations of them) completely awry. Publisher: Profile ISBN: 9781788168380

Our Curators said...

From the very first moment when Angel turns up on her father’s doorstep, heavily pregnant, seething from an argument (but mainly just hungry), I knew this would be a good one. The characters are so vivid that you feel you’ve known them forever; and the struggles they face in parenting this new child are at often both heart-rending and hilarious. An excellent choice to get lost in.

The LoveMyRead Team

- LoveMyRead

What the Critics are Saying

'An unputdownable novel, The Five Wounds takes my breath away with its intimate, humorous and heart-aching portrayal of a New Mexican family. Kirstin Valdez Quade can make a reader laugh and break a reader's heart in the same breath, and she leaves us, by the end of the novel, in awe of the dazzling power of her storytelling.'

Yiyun Li - Author of Must I Go

'The acclaimed author of Nights at the Fiestas returns with a gorgeously written, Franzen-caliber tale of one Latinx family's via dolorosa.'

Oprah Magazine's Best Books of 2021

'In this cruel and divisive era, Kirstin Valdez Quade has brought healing and regeneration with The Five Wounds. It is bracing and wise, and it breaks us in the best ways. Then builds back up again. It should find many grateful readers.'

Luis Alberto Urrea - author of House of Broken Angels

Related books

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us