SHOP SUBSCRIPTIONS, GIFT AND MORE Shop now

Book Shop

Premium

New

In Every Mirror She's Black

Lola Akinmade Akerstrom

Published: 28th October 2021 An arresting debut about what it means to be a Black woman in the world. Three women find themselves in Stockholm, a city that prides itself on being egalitarian and open. But do the same problems just wear a different name here? Publisher: Head of Zeus ISBN: 9781801108584

Our Curators said...

Striking and sharp, with messy and nuanced characters, this is a page-turning, compelling debut. Fans of Queenie and Americanah should be very excited.

The LoveMyRead Team

- LoveMyRead

What the Critics are Saying

A sharply written story with messy, deeply moving characters, raising brutal questions and steering clear of easy answers. A book that will stick with you long after you've turned the last page

Taylor Jenkins Reid, bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six

These characters will pull at your heartstrings. Lola writes with a contemporary flair, highlighting the layered subtleties of the Black woman's plight

Nicole Dennis-Benn, bestselling author of novels Here Comes the Sun and Patsy

A sexy, surprising, searing debut about love, loss, desire, and the many dimensions of Black womanhood. Timely and terrific!

Deesha Philyaw, award-winning author of The Secret Life of Church Ladies

Related books

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us