SHOP SUBSCRIPTIONS, GIFT AND MORE Shop now

December's Best New Releases

Every month we scour hundreds of titles to find the very best books. Often, there are books which we simply adore and are desperate to tell you about - but have just been pipped to the post by another title. This December, we are so excited to present our ‘best of the rest’. Eight simply scrumptious titles we are – finally – so pleased to shout about.

Choose one of these amazing books or gift a subscription to someone you love

The Rose Code

Kate Quinn

Premium

Awaiting Stock

We are currently running low on stock for this item. It may take a few days longer to deliver it to you. If you don't mind the delay, please choose the book and we'll get it to you as soon as we can.

Fiction

Hardback

Soon to be a TV series, this is a story about the secrets we keep…

Three very different women are brought together by Bletchley Park and thrown into friendship, betrayal and enmity.

LoveMyRead Review

This has to be – hands down – one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read this year. Perfectly plotted, with perfectly painted characters. I loved every page and the first thing I did when I’d finished was to start again at page one. Don't expect high literary prose, but come to this wanting escape, intrigue and atmosphere, and you won't be disappointed.

Available from: 7th December 2021

The Promise

Damon Galgut

Premium

Fiction

Hardback

Winner of the Booker Prize 2021

The Promise charts the crash and burn of a white South African family, living on a farm outside Pretoria. The Swarts are gathering for Ma's funeral. The younger generation, Anton and Amor, detest everything the family stand for - not least the failed promise to the Black woman who has worked for them her whole life.

After years of service, Salome was promised her own house, her own land... yet somehow, as each decade passes, that promise remains unfulfilled.

The narrator's eye shifts and blinks: moving fluidly between characters, flying into their dreams; deliciously lethal in its observation. And as the country moves from old deep divisions to its new so-called fairer society, the lost promise of more than just one family hovers behind the novel's title.

In this story of a diminished family, sharp and tender emotional truths hit home. Confident, deft and quietly powerful, The Promise is literary fiction at its finest.


LoveMyRead Review

Available from: 7th December 2021

Crossroads

Jonathan Franzen

Premium

Fiction

Hardback

A vibrant, sweeping saga from one of the masters of modern fiction.

The Hildebrandt family find themselves in a pivotal moment of America’s twentieth century. The political and social crosscurrents are running strong this way and that – how will they choose to navigate the future?


LoveMyRead Review

A dazzling, layered, thoughtful novel of epic heart. It’s rich and complex yet the suspense runs quietly throughout. Truly, a masterpiece of storytelling and I loved it.

Available from: 7th December 2021

Malibu Rising

Taylor Jenkins Reid

Premium

Fiction

Hardback

A lush tale of glamour and excess in 1980s California.

Everyone has a secret and by midnight the party will be out of control. By morning, the mansion will be up in flames…

LoveMyRead Review

For fans of Miranda Cowley Heller’s deliciously sexy The Paper Palace, this page-turning, elegantly-written novel is a perfect escapist read. Urgent, raw and so very, very juicy.

Available from: 7th December 2021

In Every Mirror She's Black

Lola Akinmade Akerstrom

Premium

Fiction

Hardback


An arresting debut about what it means to be a Black woman in the world.

Three women find themselves in Stockholm, a city that prides itself on being egalitarian and open. But do the same problems just wear a different name here?


LoveMyRead Review

Striking and sharp, with messy and nuanced characters, this is a page-turning, compelling debut. Fans of Queenie and Americanah should be very excited.

Available from: 7th December 2021

Because of You

Dawn French

Awaiting Stock

We are currently running low on stock for this item. It may take a few days longer to deliver it to you. If you don't mind the delay, please choose the book and we'll get it to you as soon as we can.

Fiction

Paperback

An uplifting page-turner from the much-loved comedian.

In the same hospital, two very different women give birth to two very similar daughters. Hope leaves with a beautiful baby girl. Anna leaves with empty arms. The truth lies buried, but it won’t lie quiet forever…


LoveMyRead Review

Sometimes you just need a cosy, uplifting page-turner in your life. When you’re done with the high literary masterpieces, pick this one up, sit back and relax.

Available from: 7th December 2021

Moonflower Murders

Anthony Horowitz

Fiction

Paperback

The dazzlingly clever sequel to the bestselling Magpie Murders.

Retired publisher Susan Ryeland is running a small hotel on a Greek island. She thinks she’s done with Alan Conway, the man whose memory nearly led to her own murder. But not quite yet…


LoveMyRead's Review

If there were an alter of Anthony Horowitz, I would worship at it. So brilliantly clever, you get a fizz of excitement in the pit of your stomach as you read this. I’ve no doubt that history will remember Horowitz in a folder along with Agatha Christie and the greats.

Available from: 7th December 2021

Small Pleasures

Clare Chambers

Fiction

Paperback

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, 2021.

1957, the suburbs of South East London. Jean, a journalist at the local paper uncovers the story of a woman who claims to have experienced a virgin birth. It’s an investigation that will turn Jean’s quiet life inside out.

LoveMyRead Review

A delicate, tender and beautiful novel, perfectly evocative of the era but timeless in its characters. Exquisitely heartfelt.

Available from: 7th December 2021

Want something else?

Choose from any of our previous choices for your next book

Follow Us