FREE DELIVERY ON ALL SUBSCRIPTIONS Get Started

September's Books

For Adults

A Girl Made of Air

Us Three

The Wild Silence

After Lives

A Girl Made of Air

Nydia Hetherington

Debut Fiction

A lyrical and atmospheric homage to the strange and extraordinary, perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern. This is the story of The Greatest Funambulist Who Ever Lived...

Born into a post-war circus family, our nameless star was unwanted and forgotten, abandoned in the shadows of the big top. Until the bright light of Serendipity Wilson threw her into focus.

Now an adult, haunted by an incident in which a child was lost from the circus, our narrator, a tightrope artiste, weaves together her spellbinding tales of circus legends, earthy magic and folklore, all in the hope of finding the child... But will her story be enough to bring the pair together again?

Beautiful and intoxicating, A Girl Made of Air brings the circus to life in all of its grime and glory; Marina, Manu, Serendipity Wilson, Fausto, Big Gen and Mouse will live long in the hearts of readers. As will this story of loss and reconciliation, of storytelling and truth.

LoveMyRead review:

This book introduced me to a completely new world, and it is one that has stayed with me long after I finished reading. It lingers like a beautiful perfume, heady and intoxicating. I found myself thinking about Mouse, about the circus, about her pursuit to find Bunny, for days and weeks after I put the book down. It’s Angela Carter-esque but with a sadness and a lyrical beauty that’s utterly captivating. Nydia Hetherington has given the world, in her debut novel, such a beautiful gift. She has managed so well that really difficult thing: writing that’s immaculate but not difficult. She’s definitely one to watch.

Available from: 3rd September 2020

Just Like You

Nick Hornby

Fiction

The person you are with is just like you: same background, same age, same interests. The perfect match. And it is a disaster. Then, when and where you least expect it, you meet someone new. You seem to have nothing in common and yet, somehow, it feels totally right.

Nick Hornbys brilliantly observed, tender but also brutally funny new novel gets to the heart of what it means to fall surprisingly and headlong in love with the best possible person - someone who is not just like you at all.

LoveMyRead Review:

This is a gorgeous novel about love that crosses boundaries. Lucy and Joseph aren’t meant for each other on paper but the love they share is tender and moving. Nick Hornby has managed to create a book that’s about Brexit, Trump and the state of the nation – but still infused with warmth and joy. A book that tackles big subjects but remains a wonderfully cosy read.

Available from: 17th September 2020

Us Three

Ruth Jones

Fiction

When they are eight years old, best friends Lana, Judith and Catrin swear an oath on a Curly Wurly wrapper that they’ll always be there for each other. Us Three, come what may.

For years, they keep their promise – the invisible triangle connecting them remains balanced, equilateral, never two against one . . . until betrayal and tragedy strike, and the childhood bond that they once shared is broken.

But when a life-changing event brings the three women back together, they have the chance to rekindle their age-old friendship. The question is whether they want to . . . or even whether they can.

Told over four decades, Us Three is a moving, funny and compelling story of love, loss and the enduring power of female friendship.

LoveMyRead Review:

This is a joyous read indeed! The very premise – of a friendship sworn on a Curly Wurly wrapper – was always going to be a winner but Ruth has delivered above and beyond. It’s a gloriously funny, weepy, warm book. I zipped through it and came to love Judith, Lana and Catrin; to really care about their lives, loves and ups-and-downs. These are full characters bursting with life and their energy and vibrance is as gorgeous as you’d expect from the comedic genius that is Ruth Jones.

Available from: 3rd September 2020

More than a Woman

Caitlin Moran

Non-Fiction

A decade ago, Caitlin Moran thought she had it all figured out. Her instant bestseller How to Be a Woman was a game-changing take on feminism, the patriarchy, and the general 'hoo-ha' of becoming a woman. Back then, she firmly believed 'the difficult bit' was over, and her forties were going to be a doddle.

If only she had known: when middle age arrives, a whole new bunch of tough questions need answering. Why isn't there such a thing as a 'Mum Bod'? How did sex get boring? What are men really thinking? Where did all that stuff in the kitchen drawers come from? Can feminists have Botox? Why has wine turned against you? How can you tell the difference between a Teenage Micro-Breakdown, and The Real Thing? Has feminism gone too far? And, as always, WHO'S LOOKING AFTER THE CHILDREN?

Now with ageing parents, teenage daughters, a bigger bum and a To-Do list without end, Caitlin Moran is back with More Than A Woman: a guide to growing older, a manifesto for change, and a celebration of all those middle-aged women who keep the world turning.

LoveMyRead Review:

A total hoot. Caitlin Moran has a way of bringing up the unspoken in such a dazzlingly frank way that a cringe quickly becomes a full belly-laugh. It’s zingy, fresh and bouncing with life. A complete manifesto on how to be. Be prepared to wince, cross your legs, hide your eyes between your fingers, then roar with laughter; and repeat many times till the last page. Just genius.

Available from: 3rd September 2020

The Wild Silence

Raynorr Winn

Non-Fiction

Nature holds the answers for Raynor and her husband Moth. After walking 630 homeless miles along The Salt Path, living on the windswept and wild English coastline; the cliffs, the sky and the chalky earth now feel like their home.

Moth has a terminal diagnosis, but against all medical odds, he seems revitalized in nature. Together on the wild coastal path, with their feet firmly rooted outdoors, they discover that anything is possible.

Now, life beyond The Salt Path awaits and they come back to four walls, but the sense of home is illusive and returning to normality is proving difficult - until an incredible gesture by someone who reads their story changes everything.

A chance to breathe life back into a beautiful farmhouse nestled deep in the Cornish hills; rewilding the land and returning nature to its hedgerows becomes their saving grace and their new path to follow.

The Wild Silence is a story of hope triumphing over despair, of lifelong love prevailing over everything. It is a luminous account of the human spirit's instinctive connection to nature, and how vital it is for us all.

LoveMyRead Review:

Completely stunningly, gorgeously, heart-wrenchingly, utterly beautiful. I balled my eyes more than once during this book. You can feel the wind on your skin, smell the sea on the breeze and see the lushness of the world when you read this book. Ray’s relationship with her mother and with Moth is heart-breaking and the portrayal of her need to run away from human connection and into Moth’s arms is so moving. The way that Ray sees the world – her ability to stop for a moment and really notice things, whether that’s the changing coat of an Arctic Fox before winter, or the haziness of a buzzard’s wing – it’s like a blueprint for how life should be lived and loved.

Available from: 3rd September 2020

After Lives

Abdulrazak Gurnah

Special Pick

Following two East African boys snatched from their families and sold into a colonial war, Afterlives is the story of the timeless human longing to belong, and a lifelong search for peace. Shattering and captivating, full of sweeping adventure and unforgettable heartbreak, it burns with the heat and light of a country forged over decades of war, and the friendship, love and family that grow from the ashes.

LoveMyRead Review:

If you open your heart to it, this is one of those books that reaches into your soul and shakes it up for the better. It’s a complex, nuanced, at once luxurious and heart-wrenching story about life in colonial Africa. This is a history badly underrepresented but told here in a way that sees the story from many different eyes. The grace with which Abdulrazak writes is astounding. This is not a read to race through; rather one whose every word we should take to heart.

Available from: 17th September 2020

Great books change lives

Sign Up

Follow Us